As one Tweeter put it, “are they hours wasted, or keeping me connected?”

A fair question, given the shock being experienced following the new screen time feature on iPhone with the iOS12 update.

The feature is arguably the most significant feature of the new update, making iPhone users blatantly aware of how much time they’re spending both looking at and using their devices.

You can see your usage, set limits for your Most Used apps, and see how many times your device was picked up or received a notification.

Here’s how to use it, if you haven’t horrified yourself already:

  1. Go to Settings and tap Screen Time. If you haven’t enabled it already then do so.
  2. You will be greeted by your usage so far that day.
  3. Check out which apps are taking up most of your time.
  4. At the top, move to “last 7 days”. This will also display the websites you’ve been browsing most frequently.

It comes after Facebook and Instagram introduced the Your Activity feature in recent months, also allowing users to set daily limits for themselves and reminding them via notification when they’re reached their self-set daily limit.

Users have been sharing their thoughts since the iOS feature went live, with many horrified by the reality of their excessive iPhone usage.


NEXT STORY