The United States is not on the ‘safe list’.

The EU has confirmed a list of 14 ‘safe’ countries which can travel to countries in the union from the 1st of July.

People from the following countries will be permitted to enter the EU for ‘non-essential’ travel from July: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, the European Council said.

Russia, the US, Brazil and China are among those excluded for at least another two weeks.

The vote is aimed at supporting the EU travel industry and tourist destinations, particularly countries in southern Europe hardest hit by the Covid-19 pandemic.