It seems the wet weather is here to stay… for the forseeable, at least.

Met Éireann has issued a status yellow rainfall weather warning for eight counties in Ireland.

Carlow, Kilkenny, Wexford, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford will be affected.

It’s expected about 30-50 mm of rain will fall in many areas with a risk of flooding.


Separately, a status yellow low temperature warning is in place for the whole island, with temperatures due to fall to -3 or -4 degrees overnight in many areas.