All of Ireland's MEP's have no...

News & Sports

All of Ireland's MEP's have now been elected

Valerie McHugh
Valerie McHugh

08:42 14 Jun 2024

Share this article

The final Irish seats for the European Parliament have been filled, with the conclusion of the count in the Midlands-North-West constituency in the early hours of this morning.

Five candidates were elected following a five-day marathon count, which concluded at 3.30 am in the TF Royal in Castlebar.

The election of Independent Luke 'Ming' Flanagan on the 20th count last night was followed by that of Fianna Fáil's Barry Cowen, just after 1.30am.

Fine Gael’s Nina Carberry and Maria Walsh, along with Independent Ireland’s Ciaran Mullooly were subsequently all deemed elected in the early hours.

MEPs for Ireland South

Cynthia Ní Mhurchú, Michael McNamara and Kathleen Funchion are celebrating being elected as the MEPs for Ireland South.

They were selected late last night after five days of counting.

They will join Seán Kelly who was elected on Monday and Billy Kelleher in Brussels next month.

Current MEP Mick Wallace has lost his seat after finishing in 6th.

Share this article